bfsyncfs [<options>] <repo> <mount-point>
bfsyncfs is a FuSE filesystem which can be used to modify the contents of a
bfsync repsitory. To use it, you need a local bfsync checkout
with bfsync-clone(1)) and a mount point
<mount-point>, which must
be an empty directory before running
Upon successful mount, the mount point directory will be used to display the
contents of the repository and modifications can be made with any program that
can operate on files/directories, like a filemanager,
rsync or regular shell
Note that changes only become permanent after using bfsync-commit(1). Other bfsync commands can be used to synchronize the repository history/contents with other bfsync repos.
Allows other users to access the mounted filesystem (this sets the
-oallow_otheroption). Without this option, the contents of the filesystem will only be readable/writeable by the user that mounted it.
Enable FUSE attribute caching. This improves the overall performance of bfsyncfs somewhat. However, in some rare cases the filesystem will no longer return the correct result to the userspace process, therefore it is not enabled by default.
Run the filesystem as foreground process. Without this option,
bfsyncfswill be started as background process.
Enables debugging output, this option is mainly useful during development/debugging.
- -g <group>
- --group <group>
This option is mainly useful for backup scripts. By setting a group, only processes which have the environment variable
BFSYNC_GROUPset to the same value can access the filesystem. This means other processes that should not have been accessing the backup anyway (like locate or similar indexing daemons) are blocked.
Note that this is not a security feature. Everyone can set
BFSYNC_GROUPto the value found in ps output. The option just protects the filesystem against access from other processes that may just happen to recursively crawl the file tree.
bfsyncfsdoesn’t display versions that have been deleted (for instance by bfsync-delete-version(1)). With this option it does display every version under
While for versions that have not been deleted often all file contents are available, for deleted versions it is likely that some files cannot be accessed although they are shown
THE .bfsync DIRECTORY
Once a repository is mounted, all data contained in the current version of the
repository will be available through the mount point. However, one additional
directory will show up in the file system, the
".bfsync" directory. Within the
.bfsync directory, all previous versions of the file system are available
So if you access the contents of
.bfsync/commits/8, this directory will contain
the contents of the repository version 8. It is not possible to modify old
.bfsync directory is only for reading.
There are configuration options from the repository config file that affect bfsyncfs, they are documented in the bfsync(1) manual page.